Actors dressed as colonial soldiers in Colonial Williamsburg.

Historic Triangle

Historic Triangle of America
Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown, Virginia

The birthplace of American democracy. Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown are three locations in Virginia that lay claim to where America was born. The first permanent English settlers arrived at Jamestown in 1607. At Williamsburg, the ideas of independence and revolution took form. The siege of Yorktown in 1781 was the last major battle of the American Revolution. In this Historic Triangle, Europeans, Indians, and Africans came together, and the result was the United States of America.

 Replica ships at Jamestown, and the  Historic Jamestown Settlement.

Horse drawn carriage in colonial Wlliamsburg, Virginia, actors dressed as colonial soldiers in Colonial Williamsburg.

Entrance to Historic Yorktown, The Yorktown Victory Monument is located on the southeastern end of Main Street in Yorktown, Virginia.

The corners of Virginia’s Historic Triangle mark major events in the story of colonial America. Linked by the scenic 23-mile Colonial Parkway, Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown were important stops on our nation’s journey from the first lasting English settlement to the final battle that secured liberty and independence for the citizens of the new nation.

America’s Historic Triangle
The birthplace of American democracy.

Colonial Williamsburg Official Site

Greater Williamsburg Chamber and Tourism Alliance
421 North Boundary Street | P.O. Box 3495
Williamsburg, VA 23187-3495
Phone: (757) 229-6511 | 800-368-6511 • Fax: (757) 253-1397